Remember back in the day, you’d leave school on a Friday and not think about it again until you went back on Monday? I remember being bored in the summers, so bored because I had absolutely nothing to do, nothing to think about, nothing to worry over.

What I wouldn’t give to be bored.

Summer exams are done, but within the next week, I have a 15 page paper to write about a land use problem, I have to write a settlement agreement, I have to schedule two mock interviews and I have to begin sending out resumes to firms who are not attending early interview week.

As soon as that’s done, I have to start researching the firms I’ll be interviewing with for EIW, memorizing main clients, big issues they’re working on, background on the interviewers and start figuring out questions I need to ask them. What should I ask? What should I volunteer? I’m not sure. I imagine that working at any firm is just about identical to working at any other firm – the only differences I’m really concerned with are the people I’ll be working with. The people can make or break a job, but I’m not going to pretend that as a summer or a first year associate, I’ll be able to hand pick my projects. I’ll sit in a room doing document review for hundreds of hours a week. My only hope is that when I go out to happy hour with my coworkers, we actually get along.

Then classes start the Monday after EIW, and I have to worry about writing papers and hoping I get callback interviews and ADR team tryouts and the list just goes on and on and on. Even when I’m on “vacation” I can’t actually vacation, because I’m so preoccupied with what I have to do next and what I should be doing now.

There is always something hanging over my head.

