With the economy being the way it is right now, I imagine I’m in pretty good company when I talk about the near impossibility of getting a good job. One of the problems with being in law school, however, is that I’ve only just finished my first year and already I’m supposed to be looking for the job I’ll have when I graduate two years from now.

The way it works is that at the end of this summer, I will participate in Early Interview Week. During this hellish (after all, I’ll be wearing a skirt suit and stockings in August) week, I’ll be participating in 20ish interviews, trying desperately to sell myself to a firm in hopes that they will hire me for next summer. With luck, the firm I summer with in 2010 will offer me a permanent position for after graduation. I mean, that’s how it’s supposed to go anyway. With my luck, I won’t get a permanent offer. Heck. With my luck, I won’t get a summer offer.

Actually, that’s not even luck. You see, in a strong economy, I (as a student somewhere smack in the middle of my class) would have a 50/50 chance of landing a big firm summer job my 2L year. In a weak economy, my chances are (as quoted by my career counselor) “slim to none”. (Aside, I do recognize that .s are supposed to go inside “s, but as someone who has done a bit of computer programming, I cannot abide by grammar’s most nonsensical rule.)

As it is, I am hoping to wow some interviewers with my work experience and maybe my cleavage (ha, that was a joke… but really… if it works… no, not really… maybe.) I’m not putting all my eggs in the EIW basket, though. I’m also sending resumes to small and mid-sized firms both in this city and in several cities around the freakin’ country. God only knows where I’ll end up next summer, and then… you know, howevermany years after that.

When I was applying to law school, I thought I’d be bringing in mad bucks my first summer. I thought I’d certainly have a sweet job my second and possibly several firms to choose from when I decided on my permanent home. I never thought I’d look back at my old job (making less than $50k a year) as “the good old days”.

