After my exam about two weeks ago and my paper about a week ago, I sort of lost the drive to do anything. Anything at all. I’ve been daydreaming almost constantly about sitting on a lounger in the shade of a palm tree, listening to waves crash into the shore while tanned men serve me frosty drinks. Maybe with cherry and pineapple garnishes, you know, the kind with little plastic swords stuck through them? Oh God, I’ve just reignited the craving.

You see, law school is never over. Summer vacation? Ha! Summer vacation (at least, the two weeks I get of it) is for re-tweaking my writing sample in prep for interviews and sending out resumes to the interviewers who’ve backed out of EIW and figuring out what classes to take next year.

I did get a chance to relax a little, but there’s always that niggling feeling at the back of my mind telling me I should be doing something productive. It takes all (or… at least, some) of the joy out of relaxing. In truth, I was able to spend a few hours at a beach house. I had to drive half a day to get there, but it was so totally worth it.

Four of us sat out on the beach for a couple hours in the late afternoon. The early August water was the perfect temperature, even though I got my ass kicked by the waves. We drank beer and felt the sand blow against our legs as we sat on the tailgate of a friend’s truck and watched a storm come in over the water. Honestly, it was one of the most perfect evenings I’ve spent in a long time.

I have one more week of vacation before I have to start prepping in earnest for EIW. I plan to make the most of it. So for the none of you who read this, if I happen to be sparse, forgive me. I’m trying to forget I’m a law student, even if very briefly.

