Today is the last day of my vacation. I’m back at The Boy’s house after spending almost a week traveling with him. Tomorrow I will drive back with the dog and he’ll be making The Big Move two weeks later to join me in our new apartment. Exciting and nerve-wracking and a little weird. More about that to come, I’m sure.

As for the last week or so, we were staying in a pretty rural area. Now, even rural areas generally have wifi, right? The internet in the hotel we were staying at was on the fritz almost the whole time we were there. I will be the first to admit that I have an internet addiction. I mean, I don’t get the shakes or anything, but I’m usually checking my email before I even get out of the bed in the morning and I almost always hop on for a few minutes at the end of each day.

Not having internet for a while was uncomfortable, to say the least. I try to stay connected through my various email accounts. I don’t balance my checkbook since I can just check my online banking account. I mean, I use it for everything! I use it to check the weather and to get directions! We actually had to use a map. A map! A paper map! Who does that anymore?

Anyway.

The biggest frustration for me was that fall and spring class waitlist results came out while we were vacationing. It turned out not to be a problem, but I thought it was like summer waitlist, where you have until 5pm the day after the results were released to claim your spot or it was auto-forfeited. Luckily (I guess), those who were fortunate enough to get a waitlist spot have a couple weeks to claim it this time. Not that it concerns me.

It turns out that I’m almost dead last in all of my waitlisted classes! I have no idea if it’s because I’m a 2L or if it has something to do with the particular classes I’m interested in or if I’m just spectacularly unlucky, but when I’m #73 of 74 on the waitlist, I kind of lose hope.

So not having internet access didn’t really matter, since I wasn’t a waitlist winner anyway. Now I have to wonder, do I just wait until the other 72 on the list kick it? Or will we be all randomized again at some point and I will (*fingers crossed*) move up the list some?

Otherwise, I might never graduate, since I am signed up for about 6 credits each semester, and I think you’re supposed to have a few more than that.

